A Little History

A Little History

I'm Taylor. I’m the Cofounder and Creative Director for an international matchmaking company called Ambiance Matchmaking. I live and work remotely in Mexico. Mexico City to be exact, though we are selling all of our belongings, converting a van, and moving to Puerto Vallarta in a few short months. My lungs will thank me.

Exactly two years ago (January 26, 2017) I came to Mexico and never left. It all began with my required attendance as a bridesmaid at my best friend's wedding in the Riviera Maya. In the same exact moment, my good friend from Barcelona asked me to live with her in Mexico City. This offer was too good to pass up, and I took it as a sign considering the timing. I sold all of my belongings, leased my apartment, got my Mexican visa, and bought a one-way ticket.

This has been the best two years of my life. After living in six countries and too many cities to count, who knew Mexico would feel most like home? I don’t plan on ever going back to Canada, even though it was just ranked #1 country to live, surpassing Switzerland (and nobody surpasses Switzerland). It’s BEAUTIFUL; too bad it’s boring.

I’m now in Vancouver’s cultural opposite, Mexico City, where chaos is a part of daily life, unless you live in the Condesa bubble, which I don’t. I live in Del Valle, with my boyfriend.

I met my boyfriend two weeks after arriving in Mexico City, and he may very well be the one I’ve been searching for all along. I met him on Tinder. People think it’s ironic, considering I co-own a matchmaking company, but I'm not allowed to date my clients.

I co-founded Ambiance Matchmaking in 2002, and I spend 90% of my time and energy in this company. I work remotely, either from home or cafes with other digital workers. I gave myself the title Creative Director because it seems to be the only title that encompasses the variety of work I do. I design, write, direct, and obsess over SEO by spending way too much time in Google Analytics. Yes, I’m a bit OCD and a perfectionist, which is exhausting, but somehow my friends call me laid-back and easy-going.

The other 10% is focused on other projects. I built and designed the website for Yolcan, Mexico City’s organic veggie box delivery service and producer for restaurants like Pujol (!!). My whole life has been full of sustainable agricultural projects, and it seems it will always be (life goal: own a farm… or a vineyard maybe?).

My boyfriend… OK, it’s time to introduce his name... Diego. Diego and I own a company called Caravana Bike. We offer cycling tours and triathlon training camps in Puerto Vallarta. We sold our motorcycle, bought a 12 passenger van, installed the best bike rack system we could find, and started geeking out on all things cycling, running, and swimming. Puerto Vallarta is a triathlete’s dream.

I write a lot about being a foreigner in Mexico, and being surrounded by those whom are only Spanish speaking. Most of the time I feel like a total outsider, completely different from everyone around me. It’s exhausting, it’s challenging, it’s exhilarating, and I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

This blog is a series of journal entries that used to be reserved to a journal tucked under my mattress.

Enjoy!

Color and Typeface

Color and Typeface